

PO BOX 217 CASTLEMAINE 3450 ABN 85 827 403 246 castlemainelandcare.org.au www.facebook.com/CastlemaineLandcare castlemainelandcaregroupinc@gmail.com

# Castlemaine Landcare Group Inc. - Annual General Meeting Thursday 12 May 2022, by Zoom teleconference Minutes

# 1. Welcome and acknowledgement of country

The AGM commenced at 7.30 pm, with Christine Kilmartin as chair.

Chair welcomed members and guests, and acknowledged the Jaara people, who are the traditional owners of the land and waterways on which we meet and work, and paid respect to their elders, past and present and emerging, and to the knowledge that they have of caring for country.

Secretary outlined the video conferencing arrangements, by summarising the procedures document that was circulated with the meeting notice.

## 2. Attendance and apologies; quorum; proxies

The following people attended: Christine Kilmartin, Gerry Egan, Elizabeth Eager, Denis Hurley, Clive Willman, Alison Radford, Malcolm Robins, John MacIntyre, Jenny Rolland, Euan Moore, Rosemary Hooke, Clive Willman, Matthew Kennedy, Chris Hooper, Anne Perkins.

The following apologies were recorded: Kaye Swanton, Juliana Hurley, Rex Odgers, Jon Leevers, April Bravington, Robin Haylett, Eliza Tree.

Secretary confirmed that a quorum of members was present.

No proxies were presented to the chair.

## 3. Minutes of previous AGM (13 May 2021)

Chair advised that the minutes of previous AGM were circulated with the meeting notice.

The following motion was proposed – "that the minutes be accepted as a true and accurate record of the last meeting."

Mover: Jenny Rolland Seconder: Rosemary Hooke Resolution: Carried unanimously.

## 4. Matters arising from previous AGM

The Secretary advised that there were no matters arising from the minutes.

### 5. Committee's Annual Report

#### **Committee report:**

Chair advised that this report had been circulated, and she presented a summary of the report.

The following motion was proposed – "that the Committee's report be accepted."

Mover: Anne Perkins Seconder: Elizabeth Eager Resolution: Carried unanimously

#### Monitoring reports:

Chair advised that there were three monitoring reports to be presented, and the Zoom 'share screen' feature was used by each presenter to show some slides.

- A. Birds. Jenny Rolland reports on bird surveys carried out in three areas Bests Corner, Happy Valley and Moonlight Flat.
- B. iNaturalist. Euan Moore outlined the citizen science tool called iNaturalist and the results achieved in the last year and a half. He also invited interested people to participate.
- C. Waterwatch. Matthew Kennedy presented a report on Waterwatch activity and results for 2021 and a comparison with previous years. He noted the challenges in achieving good stream health, especially dealing with turbidity, and he and Anne Perkins invited others to get involved in the monitoring activity.

Action: Committee will seek new volunteers for Waterwatch. Action: Committee will investigate possible actions to reduce turbidity.

Chair thanked the presenters, plus Peter and Rosemary Turner (for birds) and Anne Perkins (for Waterwatch, for their work during the year.

## 6. Financial Report

Chair advised that the Treasurer's report had been signed by two committee members as required by the Constitution, and that it had been circulated.

Elizabeth Eager as Treasurer summarised the report. She thanked members for their continued support through memberships and donations.

An attendee noticed a typographical error at the bottom of the second page: "UNCOMMITED FUNDS at 31 December 2020" should be "UNCOMMITED FUNDS at 31 December 2021". The Treasurer agreed to make that correction.

On that basis, the following motion was proposed – "that the statement be confirmed as a true and fair record of the financial position of Castlemaine Landcare Group Inc. during and at the end of its last financial year."

Moved: Gerry Egan Seconded: Euan Moore Resolution: Carried unanimously Gerry Egan, as Secretary, advised that he must submit a summary of the statement to Consumer Affairs Victoria within one month of the date of this meeting.

## 7. Setting membership fees

Gerry Egan advised that the AGM is to set membership fees. He further advised that the Committee recommends that membership fees stay as they are (namely Individual \$20; Family \$30; Concession \$15), and that they continue to be due by the date of the next AGM.

The following motion was proposed – "that fees continue unchanged for this financial year and the next financial year, and continue to be due by the date of the AGM."

Moved: Gerry Egan Seconded: Euan Moore Resolution: Carried unanimously

## 8. Election of office bearers and other committee members

Chair declared all positions on the committee vacant.

She briefly vacated the Chair which was taken by Gerry Egan.

Chair, on behalf of the Group, thanked Christine for her service as President and for all the work she has done. He then called for nominations for President, and he advised that there was one nomination so far, being for Christine Kilmartin. Chair asked if there were any other nominations from the floor of the meeting, but none were made. Chair declared that person elected.

Christine resumed the Chair.

Chair called for nominations for Secretary. Gerry Egan advised that there was one nomination so far, being for Gerry Egan. Chair asked if there were any other nominations from the floor of the meeting, but none were made. Chair declared that person elected.

Chair called for nominations for Treasurer. Gerry Egan advised that there was one nomination so far, being for Elizabeth Eager. Chair asked if there were any other nominations from the floor of the meeting, but none were made. Chair declared that person elected.

Gerry Egan advised that the AGM is required to determine the number of positions for ordinary committee members and advised that the previous Committee recommends that there continue to be six such positions.

The following motion was proposed – "that, in addition to the three office bearers (President, Treasurer and Secretary), the committee comprises a further six ordinary committee members."

Moved: Gerry Egan Seconded: Chris Hooper Resolution: Carried unanimously

Chair called for nominations for ordinary committee members. Gerry Egan advised that there were three nominations so far, being for Malcolm Robins, John MacIntyre, and Rosemary Hooke.

Chair asked if there were any other nominations from the floor of the meeting, but none were made.

Given that the number of nominees did not exceed the number of positions, Chair declared those three persons elected.

Chair congratulated those elected and encouraged others to consider joining the Committee.

In response to a question, Chair advised that Committee meetings are usually on the third Thursday of the month.

Action: Committee to advise all members of the timing of Committee meetings.

## 9. Other business

Chair called for any other business from the membership, and the following matters were raised.

Grants. Jenny Rolland congratulated the Committee on obtaining two large grants during the past year.

Revitalisation Project: Christine Kilmartin advised that this project is almost ready to seek input from stakeholders and interested people regarding the channelised section of Forest Creek, via an online survey.

## 10. Meeting close

Chair declared the AGM closed at 9.10 pm.

## 11. Post-meeting chat

After the formal meeting was closed, the following information was shared:

- Euan provided a brief update on the work done by DELWP under its Strategic Fuel Reduction program.
- Christine presented some 2007 photographs of Forest Creek showing a much barer environment.